Living in a war zone

Whilst I’m not technically living in a war zone, I am experiencing some of the tension and anxieties associated with one.  In the last 3 days I’ve experienced an air raid siren, bunkering down in our laundry (safe room), and watching the news and Twitter constantly for updates. It is certainly a challenge, trying to live life normally and avoid talking about it all in front of the kids, but they are obviously sensing that something is up and have created their own war zone here in our house.  Just perfect! I guess it’s difficult for them because while Joel is home, he is constantly on the phone, TV and Twitter getting updates.  While this is fair enough, it’s tricky for the kids to understand.

We are all pretty exhausted and highly strung at the moment.  The thing that is really grating on my nerves is the kids normal, daily fights over things like the Ipad.  I just want to scream at them, ‘don’t you get it, there is a war in this country RIGHT NOW’…but I bite my tongue.

It’s interesting how some people react.  I get the whole trying to live life normally thing, I do, but having a wedding is going a little far.  I saw wedding cars cruising around in a Jewish Orthodox area today. Really, a wedding during a war, really?! I guess we did get home delivered dinner during the air raid on Friday, so I guess anything is possible!!

The streets in Jerusalem are quiet, but people are still playing at parks and going shopping. Although we are, we aren’t venturing far from home.  I went out for a coffee last night and found myself on the edge of my seat wanting to get back home to my family.  Guess that’s where my heart lies, not a bad thing really, although that hot chocolate was damn good.

It is certainly tricky living in this environment.  I’ve learnt that living in a war zone (or close to one) is so unpredictable.  We never would have thought that Jerusalem would have been a target, nor did we ever think we would be using our safe room (all squished into our tiny laundry eating burgers on a picnic rug (good thing our picnic set and beer fridge are in the laundry!)).

4 thoughts on “Living in a war zone

  1. Hard for those of us in the West to appreciate your reality. I had a student once whose family had emigrated from a war zone. She shared with the class that the concept of stress as we experience it is so foreign to her, as she lived with life and death issues daily. Thank you for sharing your life and helping us understand.

    • Hi. Thanks for commenting. It was a privilege living in Jerusalem, but at the time I didn’t realise how much it would affect me. I’ve moved across the bridge to Jordan. It’s like being on a vacation compared to what it was like living there during the rough patches. The thing I find upsetting the most, is I can go and leave Jerusalem anytime I like. A lot of the Palestinians can’t. I’m very lucky!

  2. I cannot think of anything in my own life that would compare to this sort of living situation… Having a wedding is probably a little bit like, “…And the band played on,” or maybe some kids trying to synthesize bravery with rebellion.

    Good luck with your family. I wish you safety.

  3. I see these stories, watch them on the news, and it tears my heart out at the terror innocent people live day by day in these war torn areas, never knowing when it might be their home under attack.

What do you think?

