It’s all happening!

I have been sent away with a G&T with the night off.  Thought this would be a great time to catch up on the world, take a moment to breathe and relax.

Our time is going along splendidly.  So much has happened since I last wrote, I don’t know where to start! Well, firstly, we have begun our intensive Arabic lessons.  I do one hour a day, Joel does four.  They certainly weren’t lying when they called it ‘intensive’, it’s full on! We have one to one tutoring at the moment.  Our teacher is a beautiful Palestinian girl about my age.  She is so friendly.  We have heaps of fun, heaps of laughs and heaps of chocolate.  In two sessions, my Arabic has already improved so I’m thrilled.  She has three children as well so seeing it’s school holidays, we are going to do some of our lessons at her place and some at ours next week which I’m really looking forward to.  I’ve had a chance to hear some of her story and to be honest, I just want to burst into tears when she talks about it.  Without going into my stance politically etc, it just totally guts me to hear how hard things are for not only her, but also her children.  Her children suffer horrific anxiety from having to cross constant check points which involve intense searches. It’s so unfair.  It also makes me realise just how fortunate I am with not only the opportunities my parents have given me so far, but the freedom we have in Australia.  Anyway, I’m still thinking and praying about it, but I may end up volunteering to help in a project my Arabic teacher is coordinating.

We are very much looking forward to our shipment arriving in a few days.  It’s been nice living simply, but the boys need a few toys to keep them entertained, they keep fighting from boredom. It is driving me crazy.

I’m driving on the road with the crazies.  I LOVE every drive I do in this country.  It’s so comical! There are constant beeps of the horn (the ‘excuse me’ horn, the ‘watch out!’ horn, the ‘I know the lights are red but hurry up anyway’ horn).  It makes me laugh every time.  The great thing about learning to drive on the other side of the road in this foreign place is if I do anything stupid, I feel right at home.  If I cut across four lanes of traffic at the last minute, that’s no problem at all, I feel right at home doing it, no one minds.  You might get an occasional ‘watch out!’ horn, but without the aggression that we can experience in Oz.  It’s really funny, I love it!

We will be heading along to a local church tomorrow for the Easter service which will hopefully be in English.  We were totally unorganised this year to get to the Easter events in the city, but next year we will.

In all, we are going well.  Joel has stopped work for one month to concentrate on Arabic which is cool.  It’s exciting for him to be able learn more Arabic, but so nice for us to have him around.  Joel is happy and settled here.  His work hours are heaps better, so he is normally around to hang out and help with the night routine…phew!  Maxi is doing well.  He has certainly regressed in toileting, but has really grown in maturity. He already has a couple of friends who are boys (hooray!), so they are playing at each others houses.  Max loves making up words and saying it’s Arabic. I have found a few foods that they can have, but mostly it’s been quite hard to stick to the diet making life a little tricky for us.  Jimbo is also doing well.  He keeps saying he is a big boy.  He is going to ‘school’ two days a week and loves playing with Zac. Cami is having a tough time.  In the last three weeks, two teeth have come through, he has learnt to sit and crawl independently and has an upper respiratory infection.  He wakes several times a night with complaints to the foods we eat or his teeth.  Having said this, he is so happy to be crawling.  He loves spending his time following Max and J around and especially climbing over Maxi’s train tracks (great!).  I’m doing well too.  I’m really happy here so far.  This change has been just what we all needed as a family and individually. It’s crappy to be so far away from loved ones, but so awesome to be having such a rich, new experience.  I’m happy!  It also helps that we have been told we are entitled to home help.  We have since hired a cleaner who also babysits for us.  I’m thrilled! It’s all working out perfectly.

One thought on “It’s all happening!

What do you think?

