The travelling road show does the Middle East

We have arrived! The flights went really well.  We all enjoyed kicking back in our pods, having nice airplane food brought to us. In our first 24hrs we have caught many taxis, crossed many borders, waited in many lines, ate much falafel and hommus and been to a hospital, and all with a 3.30am start to the day.

It has certainly been a long, but fun trip so far.  It’s been so exciting walking this journey with our three boys.  They are so excited about EVERYTHING.  The gorgeous words of ‘mmm delicious’ were heard coming from them on the airplane and ‘Marhaba’ as they walk along the streets.  It’s been so beautiful.

We are currently staying in an apartment for one week while we wait for our furniture to arrive in our house.  It’s worked out well being close to the centre of Jerusalem so we can explore the city easily without the stress of public transport.  Although, the efforts taken to push the stroller over unfinished, narrow paths is a little hectic (although the stroller is certainly taking to the bumps well).  I’m finding it hard to really take in the atmosphere of the city because I’m constantly looking down to avoid tipping the pram or get hit by cars coming in the opposite direction.  Once I find my confidence in bush bashing along the paths, I’m sure I’ll get the opportunity to look up and see where we are going and see our new home.  The really cool thing is, Joel is saying maybe we could do this or that, and well, we are all tired so it’s nice to say ‘there’s no hurry because we are now living here’, rather than rushing around like tourists.

In our first 24hrs we did have a trip to the hospital.  J jammed his finger in a xtrainer machine and it looked horrific.  Thankfully there are no breaks, just a lot of bruising and swelling poor kid. This is of course not only happened on our first day, but it happened on a day when all the doctors were closed..great!

I’m not really looking forward to Joel leaving us for a couple of days for work, I kind of feel like I need to have my hand held, feeling vulnerable I guess! Please don’t leave me…

Anyway, we are off today to explore the markets which I am thrilled about.  I love that we have loads of fresh markets around us.  We are also going for a playdate with some of Joel’s work colleagues today, they also have 3 boys.  I’m not sure the boys will know how to play with other boys, they haven’t really had many play dates with boys, it will be awesome…

2 thoughts on “The travelling road show does the Middle East

  1. Oh nik nik i miss u so much already! Sounds like your already getting into the groove of things. I look forward to reasing more soon and seeing pictures

    Cassie

What do you think?

